تتكلم كويس

Recently, I’ve had more and more Jordanians say this to me: “You speak Arabic well.”  That’s usually followed with an attempt to discuss politics or religion.  Well, it’s one thing to “speak well” and it’s another to acquire enough vocabulary to hold such conversations.  But, I feel generally encouraged as I continue to learn.  My teachers have also said positive things, so I feel like I’ll have a good base for continuing to learn when I return in 2 weeks.

6 Responses to تتكلم كويس

  1. Mike says:

    Where will you cointinue to learn Arabic? I imagine a weekly excursions to Holy Land for pita and meat, chatting it up with the folks in the store. Though, most likely there are more than Arab-americans that visit Holy Land. Seems Ethiopians too because of the Anjara there.

  2. tlc says:

    Aren’t there some arabic profs / classes / credit work in arabic at Luther? Ahh the Matt Cain anjara & arabic coffe shop?

  3. abc says:

    I’ll come and make the injara and the blueberry muffins and the chocolate chip cookies! Dad and you can teach theology : )

  4. abc says:

    Acutally the operative word in your message this time – is TWO WEEKS! Can’t wait to see you!

  5. Suzanne says:

    Wow Toiskis, crazy that you’re back in 2 weeks already. Como vuela el tiempo! Try that one in Arabic… Anyhow, like the others, I’m enjoying the blog and am looking forward to hearing more over a slice of ‘za and a cold Stella at Luce.

  6. mattinjordan says:

    I’ve talked with the librarian here a number of times in English and assumed she was from Japan. A couple of days ago she said some Spanish idiom, and I was like, “Do you speak Spanish?” She replied, “Yes I’m from Peru.” Her family is among the groups in support of Fujimori. She sounded somewhat colonial-minded. Pretty weird…but I get to practice my Spanish!!

Leave a comment