“Just help her fill out the form for the doctor”

The wife of the couple from Ahwaz is pregnant and she has a doctor’s visit coming up.  So, my sis-in-law thought it would be good to have me help her fill out the forms prior to the visit.  Now, most of my Arabic comes from general conversation and reading BBCArabic.com.  So, I know words like “alive” “dead” “killed” and “blood”.  For the other words, which were many, I used Google Translate to the best of my ability.  Yes, I’m single.  Though, I think it would be uncomfortable for any dude to conduct that interview.  Thanks sis!

2 Responses to “Just help her fill out the form for the doctor”

  1. clc says:

    you mean asking people about their sexual history is uncomfortable?

    sorry about that. it was either the single guy using his arabic or the married women having to do extensive charades.

  2. Matt says:

    Sexual history is different from asking a married Arab woman about the current state of affairs. Her answer, translated: “There is and there isn’t”. How am I supposed to follow that up?

Leave a comment